Taking it back … 345 days earlier

I got the call! My heart was beating a thousand miles a minute. Nervous, shaking, sweaty palms and with a dry mouth I managed to get through what I thought would be the worst part: an unexpected dreaded phone interview. This was then followed by a day filled with faces I was sure to never see again, names that flew by me and disappeared into thin air.  A day started with introductions, interviews and testing, divided by eliminations and ending with thank you’s and a uniform fitting.

One of the most exhilarating days that I could ever remember. By the end I was sure I had it in the bag, but I tried to be modest and kept quiet. After all, the greatest disappointment would have been a rejection.

Two weeks later I was en route to my month long training course. A room-mate, 5:30am wake-up calls, a hotel filled with eager and competitive trainees, kraft dinner and sandwiches and an intensive 21 day in class course.

Adrenaline was pumping on high.

After numerous sleepless nights, vivid horror dreams, delusional days, I GRADUATED!! This was not just any graduation, this was one I’ve wanted for years. One of my biggest achievements, one of my proudest moments.

They told us, “this training you may not remember after all, but the people you meet here, the people you spend all your days with … will become some of your closest friends”

They were right about one thing, I did meet some amazing people!

This is where my adventure started… keep reading for my exciting journeys …

Leave a Reply

